Wanting to buy an MX5, not sure which way to go

Anything to do with the MX5 and Motor Sport

Moderators: timk, Stu, zombie, Andrew, -alex, miata

chrons_rotary
Fast Driver
Vehicle: Clubman

Wanting to buy an MX5, not sure which way to go

Postby chrons_rotary » Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:29 pm

Hi guys, i've been running hillclimbs for a few years in my S1 Rx7 and have had plenty of fun in it, but now i want to move on to an NA MX5.
Just want some advice about whats a popular class/racing series around sydney (im from newcastle), also what size engine, and whether to go turbo or stay aspirated.
Im mostly wanting to stick to hillclimbs/super sprints for the moment with the possibility of door to door maybe in a few years.
Thanks guys, cant wait to join the MX5 family :)

evil_weevil
Racing Driver
Vehicle: NA8

Re: Wanting to buy an MX5, not sure which way to go

Postby evil_weevil » Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:42 pm

all depends on your budget really!!

over 4 years ago I sold my R33 GTSt whichj I did a few sprints and hill climbs in, and bought my NA8.
I havent looked back.

I stuck with Na cause of the cost, I chose the Mx5 cause of how many events you can actually do.

supersprints there are a few classes which MX5's fall under depending on mods, engine size, tyres etc, Bryan or one of the regular sprinters can let you know more on that than me.

A few of us here do Festival of sporting Cars and MRA which has superTT and MX5 challenge races. the cars are built to CAMS prod sports and we race in a more relaxed and cheaper form of motor sport but still door to door.

if you buy an MX5 and decide to race door to door later, depending what you weant to race in you are limited to mods and what you can do to the car.
there are plenty of threads here, have a look at the modern sports car thread, any of the MRA round threads and the one t-bro started in motorsport, why no Mx5's in racing anymore or something.
some really good reading
cheers,
Chris
Looking for an SVT motor for this: