Andrew's NB8A (Slow Build Edition)

Chat to do with your MX5/Miata/Eunos Garage Ride(s).

Moderators: timk, Stu, zombie, Andrew, The American, Lokiel, -alex, miata, StanTheMan, greenMachine, ManiacLachy, Daffy

EndlessSummer_Az
Learner Driver
Vehicle: NB8A

Andrew's NB8A (Slow Build Edition)

Postby EndlessSummer_Az » Mon Nov 07, 2016 7:48 pm

Hey guys - I'm Andrew, and I've just picked up an NB8A in red. Looks like you guys have a great community here, so thought I'd introduce myself and get involved.

This is what I've bought. Disclaimer - the rims aren't to my taste (ie they suck), and I think she's had a somewhat...chequered past. But damn if she doesn't drive well...

20160826_085306.jpg

Always had a thing for little Fords and Mazdas. I've been autocrossing a very tired, non-turbo TX3 for the last 10 years or so, trying to break it and never quite succeeding. Mazda did a damn good job on the old BP motor. I also have a very quick Fiesta XR4 which is my daily, but which ends up at street sprints and track days a lot more than it should. A certain Mr Plohl, forum member here, here will know about both, since he's been keeping me honest at IWMAC for a few years now.

McLane-020a.jpg

Have always been a big fan of the "slow car fast" philosophy, and of having a car you can actually drive...all the cars I've owned have tended to be small, quick and good handling (except for the Laser, which has tried to kill me on no less than 37 occasions). It's also fun being told you have a girl's car, then making your passenger wet themselves and/or carsick in response. The upshot is the MX5 ticked all the boxes and I've wanted one for a while now - we found this one languishing in a mechanic's shop in Brissie. Mechanically it seems pretty tidy, but there are a few cosmetic issues from sitting out in the sun / lying around and being used as a garage shelf. And the rims need to be killed with fire...but one drive and I was hooked.